*時間更正-【演講訊息】Invited lecture on Critical Issues in Heritage and Tourism: From Problems to Possibilities (Dr. Yujie Zhu 澳洲國立大學人文藝術學院朱煜杰副教授)

Critical Issues in Heritage and Tourism: From Problems to Possibilities

(時間有更正,請以內文時間為準)

 

Guest speaker: Dr. Yujie Zhu, Research School of Humanities & the Arts, Australian National University

Time: THURSDAY, MARCH 31, 2022 AT 12:30 PM – 2:30 PM (Taipei) /1:30 PM – 3:30 PM (Korea)/3:30 PM-5:30 PM (Australia)(此為最新確認時間,以此時間為準。)

 

Discussants: Shu-Mei Huang (National Taiwan University) and Hyun Kyung Lee (Hankuk University of Foreign Studies)

Please find the link and the event page on fb. The meeting room will be ready 10 min before the talk.

https://fb.me/e/h8IZFfS0L

 

This talk is an overview and open discussion of Dr. Zhu’s new book, Heritage Tourism (Cambridge University Press 2021). The book is situated in the nexus between critical heritage studies and critical tourism studies. It examines the hegemonic power of heritage tourism and its consequences, the spectres of nationalism and colonialism in heritage-making, particularly for minorities and indigenous peoples, and the paradox inherent in heritage tourism’s role in combating these issues. The talk will address a range of approaches and challenges to empowerment and community engagement within the context of heritage tourism. Dr. Zhu will also talk about how heritage tourism can develop as a form of co-creation ­– a mechanism for community-centred governance that integrates recognition and interpretation to promote dialogue, equity and diversity.